Wash day with Anita Grant Rhassoul Cubes

Good Afternoon wonderful readers! Okay so over winter break I ordered Anita Grant’s Rhassoul Clay cubes after I saw fusionofcultures on youtube use it, as well as Naptural85 on her blog. I was so excited to try them that I ordered two packages of it (to avoid more shipping costs in the future). When I received my package-about three weeks later- I could smell the scent before I even opened it. All the chocolatey goodness of it. I opened the package excitedly and saw (within the little white box) that each box contained three chocolate candy-looking cubes.

Pre Wash:

The day before washing my hair I had it in a twist out (the one from the previous post). That night I lazily rolled and tucked my hair into five sections on my head and secured each one with a band. I removed them the next morning, and after much shaking, picking (with afro pick) and scrunching I achieved my desired look:

ck d1ck d12

Wash Time:

On wash day I clarified my scalp with diluted apple cider vinegar, and then shampooed with Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle. After my hair was stripped clean I placed one of the cubes into a glass measuring cup and poured an itsy bit amount of hot water on top, and then mixed it with a spoon. I ended up making it slightly too watery so I added half of another cube into the liquid and applied it to my hair. In all honesty, it was so disappointing. Correct me if i’m wrong, but I had the intentions that it would weigh my hair down like a Bentonite clay mask- as noted in the videos I watched on Youtube. On top of my high expectations for this product, it didn’t even work so well as just a deep conditioner. It felt as though my hair wasn’t even fully saturated with product. I wanted to give it one more shot so I placed in the rest of the other half cube, mixed in hot water, and rubbed it in my hair. A little better, but not great. It was also slightly grainy. I then covered my head with a plastic cap and towel for an hour, then washed it out. I’ve had better results with just using a plain conditioner. Finally, I braided my hair with Jane Carter’s Solution products, Vatica oil, castor oil, and Kinky Curly knot today.

Pics Time!

Anita Grant Rhassoul Clay:

IMG_2828

IMG_2832

IMG_2839

Product in my hair:
ck d21

IMG_2862
ck d212

Products used and Style

IMG_2897
ck d23

Shed hair after 3 months with extensions (There would have been more if I’d never detangled after removing them)

IMG_2894
IMG_2905

The results of how I style my hair the next day will be posted soon. As well as my new safety, or “go to” style. Have a great day!

P.S.- Did I mention I paid 34 dollars and change for 6 frick’n cubes that can only give me three uses! I didn’t even know I paid that much until I got my receipt and it said so. Turns out the 22 dollars (or so) I thought I was paying for this was actually in European pounds. The nerve. I plan on trying 100% Rhassoul clay in the future.

Peace!

4 thoughts on “Wash day with Anita Grant Rhassoul Cubes

  1. have you ever tried bentonite clay mask? it really weighs your hair down, deep conditions and detangles… also do you think that maybe there was too much liquid in your mixture? Maybe that caused your hair not to be weighed down as much and not as conditioned? I dont really know, I’ve only used the bentonite clay… sorry that it didnt go as well as you had planned :/

    • lol yes, I used that on my face last night. I have heard of Bentonite clay but I learned that it was very drying on the hair which is why many people said pure Rhassoul clay is better. I will however try it in the future. Thanks for the response! 🙂

      • Ah, it works wonders on the face! I love it as a good ole fave mask as well. I didn’t know that others have had experiences with dryness, that hasn’t been my experience with it thus far, but everyone’s hair is different… One day I think I’ll try the Rhassoul clay in the future as well. Thank you for your post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

