Take down of Senegalese twists and style

After having Senegalese twists in for almost three months I finally took them down. This process took me almost three hours(40 minutes of study and 2 episodes of Scandal.) Upon removing my twists my hair felt beyond brittle, with lots of build up at the roots and very dry. Some twists were easy while a few others got so tangled with my hair that I had to cut some of my own strands. Also, several twists in the middle of my head (from the previous take down) had locked because I had never detangled them when I had initially  re-twisted my hair. The better twists were very stretched out and created some great curls (twist out).

It was almost 12 a.m. in the morning at this point, so I decided that i’d have to wait until another day to wash it. The thing is, I had a basketball game to go to the next day so I couldn’t imagine having to wash my hair and style it to be dry in time for the game. So I twisted my hair with gel….lots and lots of gel, and can you believe I didn’t use a comb the entire time? Yea, I know. Anyway, I finished at 2:20 in the morning, which isn’t that bad considering the tangled state my hair was in at that time. I saved the colored extensions for future twists, being that they looked like they could get a few more uses (plus one pack costed me $6 on ebay). I twisted my hair with water, a mixture of oils, Shea Moisture Smoothie, Eco Styler gel (a ton), and Castor oil on my ends. This combo, the gel especially, coated my hair with a white film. When this process was complete I was shocked my nails had withstood the entire process, and even more shocked at the finger detangling method (never knew it could be so effective once oil and water hit it). While checking my length, I noticed that my hair had grown a lot more (I told myself), and I already began obsessing about how I was going to style it for the next few weeks (in which I planned to put in another set of extensions). I planned to keep my loose natural hair out for 3 weeks.

Okay, so now here are the pics, and mind you, I look kinda busted in some of them. Not to mention I decided to do an oatmeal facial during this process. They are in order from take down to style.

ck2

ck1

ck3
ck4IMG_2655IMG_2627

IMG_2651ck5ck6

IMG_2672IMG_2675


IMG_2678

IMG_2677

IMG_2683

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Part 2 coming soon. Hope you enjoyed 🙂

Leave a Reply

